What's new
What's new

craftsman lathe

Status
Not open for further replies.

tkrrox

Plastic
i just picked this up...and i will admit i have no knowledge of lathes...i did do some research and found that altas built these...
http://www.lathes.co.uk/craftsman/index.html
a lot of what i've learned is by the sight above...
i am curious on if the altas parts are interchangeable and if anyone has insight if i just wasted my money or it was a decent purchase...i was given 2 motors with it and i haven't wired it yet to see it work...the bearings feel good, but the sled did have play, which i'm thinking/hoping i can adjust out....
2008028.jpg

DSCN1298.jpg

DSCN1299.jpg

DSCN1300.jpg

any insight will be helpful...the pics on the sight above are close to the model but have differences...

thanks
taryn kelley

One of our members has this same lathe... Dan ? (can't remember his last name right off)from Altlanta. He came to the Southeast meet this year. Maybe he'll chime in. I know this is the same lathe as his due to the lack of a backgear. I thought he had a modified lathe or just hadn't figured it out, but it must be the same machine.

If you didn't pay too much for it, this is probably going to be a decent little machine, as long as you don't expect more out of it than it can obviously deliver. Best part is that is looks to be pretty completely tooled up. If you are making model airplane parts or the like, this will be a great machine. Lack of micrometer dials can be dealt with by using a dial indicator against the slides for precision work.

Lack of backgear means you'll be limited to high speeds and light cuts, but for the size and weight of the machine, that's probably good. This would be an excellent addition, even if you have a larger lathe. A tiny, high speed machine like this is extremely handy for fine work where the big machine can get clumsy.