What's new
What's new

HSCO vs Carbide End Mills for General Shop Use

Here comes a journey of a thousand miles
Don

Sooo true! As an engineer I love maximizing things and getting every bit of performance and efficiency out of whatever I'm working on, and my journey so far into getting the best recipes for machining as fast, reliably, and as efficiently as possible definitely feels like it's going to be a long journey.

as a job shop, the initial investment in a $150+ endmill for one job doesn't pay off if its a $50 part. thats where a $8 HSS endmill come into play, i prefer HSS as it is more forgiving in certain applications.

If you're going to use it once, and the HSS will do, you can get away with it. If you're going to keep using it, get the carbide. It may cost two or three times as much, but will last ten times as long, and perform far better while it does so.

Not sure where the line is drawn between high speed steel and high speed steel cobalt.
Perhaps someone could explain the crossover or in between on the callouts and numbering.
There is M2 and M42..:willy_nilly:
Can high cobalt types tend to become to be more brittle like carbide is and no so liking abuse and a beating?
Bob

over 1" dia many will rough with carbide inserts mills especially 1.5 to 3" dia
you can get multiple row insert mills
they might finish (side mill) using a long hss or cobalt end mill. cobalt usually
much better for alloy steels that dull quickly with hss.
crestcut mills with wavy flutes many use where better finish and less vibration
is needed especially over 3" depth

i wouldnt be surprized if there were more than 100 different hss alloys on the market today.

I definitely agree, with varying degrees of hardness. I used to turn down shanks of HSS drills ages ago to use them in machines with drill collet holders that had a 3/8" max on machines that would accept up to 13/16 (.8125) stock.