What's new
What's new

Centerless Grinding Adjusting Tips, General and Correcting Hourglass

ClappedOutBport

Cast Iron
All,

I need a few tips.

My work is not a machine shop. I am not a professional machinist, I am an engineer, but I do regular machine work at home. Grinding is not part of my skill set.

Anyways, we produce one product we grind in house. The material is a refractory metal with highly inconsistent hardness, so it's not even worth discussing. (Also proprietary) Our parts started coming out hourglass shaped and I need to fix them.

The part is approximately the 3/32 size diameter. We are removing roughly .010 to make a round finished part. There were some obvious problems I found. For starters the regulating wheel dresser was locked up due to varnished oil (mineral oil coolant). We stripped, cleaned and reassembled it and I dressed the regulating wheel, it was very clearly out after 3 years of minimal-marginal use. My questions are:

1. The regulating wheel dresser can swivel on it's mount both in an approximately horizontal and vertical offset. I understand the horizontal angle should match the swivel angle of the regulating wheel spindle. Does the vertical angle matter much? I leveled it out as best I could, but I only had a painted surface to level to. Or is there another way?
  2. The diamond can be offset. I understand this to be half of the work diameter. Above or below?
  3. The top slide has an angle adjustment. Do I set this to the arctangent of the diameter delta divided by the wheel length? I.e., .095 degrees? Or leave it at zero?
  4. How close does one get the blade to the work wheel? What is the general procedure to setting the top slide vs bottom slide? What is the general infeed procedure for setting up to a new diameter?

Info:

1. 6" width wheels I believe. Unsure on diameters. Guessing 12 and 8". No data on grit or material.
  2. I believe the machine is an Supertec STS-C 1206 Supertec