What's new
What's new

Brown & Sharpe calipers made in Germany? WTF

Jhknight

Plastic
Hello everyone,
I’ve been reading post from here for many years but have never posted.
My name is Jason K. I’ve been a machinist for over 25 years and I’m a die hard B&S man. I thought I had used, seen or at least hear of most every Metrology instrument out there, but this one has me stumped. I recently purchased a set of Brown & Sharpe vernier calipers off eBay. The posting said they were a set of 25” vernier calibers and they were in great shape for a decent price so I bought them. They arrived a few days later and I couldn’t believe my eyes. They turned out to be Brown & Sharpe 50”! Thing is I’ve never heard of a 50” by B&S. What struck me as odd is they are model # 570’s, but doesn’t have the rest of the numbers. Usually it is a 570-xx- xxx or something to that effect. And the thing that threw me for a loop is that underneath the 570 it says made in Germany and I have never heard of a Brown & Sharpe tool being made in Germany. I have scoured the Internet and talked to every smart person I know, and no one can tell me anything.
I’m dying to find out anything I can about these and if anybody could help me out that would be awesome! Thanks guys

ps. I tried to post some pics but it keeps telling my my files are to large and that sucks because they are quite beautiful and would love to show them off!

****Update: I’ve uploaded a media file album and made it so anyone could view it that has the pictures in it ****

Last edited:
ps. I tried to post some pics but it keeps telling my my files are to large and that sucks because they are quite beautiful and would love to show them off!