What's new
What's new

Need help with Matsuura MC-500v

HalfGrain

Plastic
I am just starting out with my first CNC mill, it is a 1980 Matsuura MC-500v with a Yasnac MX-3 controller. Trying to turn on the cutter compensation and cannot figure out what parameter/setting to change. When I enter the Offset page on the controller, the Cut Comp line says G40. The manual says G40 is cutter comp off, and G41-G42 set which side of the line. Tried looking through the manuals but not having any luck. My only controller experience was with a much newer AXYZ router, so this machine is like trying to fly a UFO for me. Thanks for any help!

I am just starting out with my first CNC mill, it is a 1980 Matsuura MC-500v with a Yasnac MX-3 controller. Trying to turn on the cutter compensation and cannot figure out what parameter/setting to change. When I enter the Offset page on the controller, the Cut Comp line says G40. The manual says G40 is cutter comp off, and G41-G42 set which side of the line. Tried looking through the manuals but not having any luck. My only controller experience was with a much newer AXYZ router, so this machine is like trying to fly a UFO for me. Thanks for any help!
show us your program that has failed you.
I have a 1986-7 matt. it has a MX2 control

show us your program that has failed you.
I have a 1986-7 matt. it has a MX2 control
I am not even able to write a program, no access to tool offsets. The manual shows much more on the screen than what is coming up for me. I followed the manual verbatim but something is just not right. Haven't been able to get the btr to talk to my computer either, working on that this week.