What's new
What's new

Need THREE Rockstar Machinists for Rocket Engine Components

afeathers1

Plastic
Reaching out again as our shop has grown (also thanks to the Practical Machinist community). I'm a manufacturing engineer with Ursa Major who manufactures 3D printed rocket engines:

I work closely with the folks in the shop and it is a unique place. There are some clips of it in the videos above, but they don't do it justice. We do a lot with our four (technically 5 with millturn) spindles, and have one (technically two) more on the way:
  • DMU-85 FD
  • DMU-50
  • DMU40 Evo FD (coming off the boat early Jan.)
  • Haas VF-3
  • Haas TL-1
This shop is now moving fast. Through a combination of world-class people, software, machines, and careful selection & integration of tooling & palletized workholding we are executing a vision of the most flexible & responsive development machining capability possible. We are also starting up our first lights-out millturn production cell to support our small (5,000lb-f thrust) engine product.

Right now we are looking for more world-class folks. Each header is a link to the listing for these positions on our website. Please apply and/or reach out to me if you are interested, or if you know anyone who would be interested. The front range is a beautiful place to live, and even more exciting for hosting so much rocket engine testing.
  • Machinist Position:
    • Required Qualifications:
      • 3 years’ experience in a machining environment
      • Experience operating CNC equipment (lathe or mill)
      • Demonstrated critical thinker, experience handling parts from programming through completed machined parts
  • Senior Machinist Position:
    • Desired Qualifications:
      • 7 years experience in an aerospace machining or manufacturing environment
      • Experience with modern multi-axis CAM packages (Hypermill) & toolpath simulation
      • Experience with multi-axis & millturn machines and programming