What's new
What's new

Axle for my 1910 Mitchell

99Panhard

Stainless
I have to make an axle for the 1910 Mitchell I've been working on for close to ten years. It's 1-3/8" in diameter, about 30 inches long with squared ends. PM Heldt's engineering manual (1912 Edition) states they were made from "30 point carbon steel", "45 point carbon steel", "30 point carbon, 3-1/2% nickel steel", "vanadium steel" or "chrome nickel steel" and that heat treating was required. My question is, what would be an appropriate modern material to replace one of these adding the proviso that I'm doing all this work on what are essentially antique machines with HSS tooling. Of course carbide hadn't been invented in 1910 and HSS was nowhere near as common as it would be 20 years later. It's a full floating rear axle and I have one of the two axles...I'm missing 1 axle and the drive shaft which must have been similar as it runs inside a torque tube.

The MItchell company cut about every corner they could so I'm guessing they used the cheapest materials they could get away with. Nevertheless, the axle I have is in very good condition. Still, I don't relish copying lower quality work so if it is feasible I may make both.

I have to make an axle for the 1910 Mitchell I've been working on for close to ten years. It's 1-3/8" in diameter, about 30 inches long with squared ends.

4340 heat treated to a little over 40, say 42-ish ? ... easy to get and heat treat, works for a UOP Shadow, should hold up to a 1910 mitchell :D

(4142 should be fine too but that diameter is a tad big for a full quench so what the heck, go for the gusto)

Make sure they drop the shafts in endwise or you'll play heck straightening them.