What's new
What's new

Larger Spade Drills

bluerev06

Plastic
I am new to running Spade Drills. The guy training me is...... clueless.

I am running 4" to 6 1/2" spades up to 40" deep, into 4140. In an old and worn out boring mill.

The tool has thru coolant, but in my opinion, not enough. After about 18" deep, chip evacuation becomes an issue. The chips just get ground up. And I suspect cause the spade to get stuck in the bore. It has happened several times.

Do you need a small pilot drill to start? A Center Drill mark? The material is sawcut and fairly square. From time to time, the Drill does seem to bounce when starting. I have been drilling a pilot hole just slightly smaller than the chisel tip on the spade. Usually, 3/16".....ish. I'm starting to wonder about pilot drilling.....

I can't seem to get more than 40 - 45 sfm and 0.004" ipr. Does this sound normal?

Thanx for any info you all can give me.

Depends on how stout the machine and setup/work are. Mostly you're not going to run massive feeds unless you have a behemoth of a machine and are drilling near the base of its Y axis travel. And lower feeds yet in tougher steels like 4140. Those external through coolant adapters work, but you need to have good pressure and volume from the coolant pump. The deeper you drill, the more pressure and flow you want. You shouldn't need a pilot but it will help reduce thrust forces on the machine. Definitely keep it smaller than the web/chisel with a long drill.

40-45 SFM is about right for 4140 around Q&T level, and especially as you go deeper you may need to reduce the speed even more without good coolant flow. Also periodically withdrawing the drill and clearing chips is very important when deep drilling without proper coolant pressure and flow. If you don't, what you describe is usually the result: ground up looking chips and a spade that gets stuck when you try to withdraw it.