What's new
What's new

1-Phase 120VAC motion control

DanielG

Stainless
We need to do some basic motion control, but we're limited to a standard 1-phase 120VAC 15A outlet. In the past for this customer I used a NIDEC UniDrive M300 VFD, which worked great. Unfortunately, I need servo control on the next project. Most manufacturers don't seem to have many 120V options. So far the best option I've seen is Yaskawa. I've never worked with their motion controller before though. Does anyone have any brand or product line selections?

Thanks

Basic in this case is 4 servo axes, synchronized into two pairs. The pairs are geared to each other so the linkages stay synced up. Low speed, push-to-run control. There's no dual-servo countertorque, load cell feedback, G-code, etc., so I wouldn't classify it as complicated. It just needs to move four motors together.

Fiscal budget isn't a problem, just the energy budget.

Most manufacturers don't seem to have many 120V options. So far the best option I've seen is Yaskawa. I've never worked with their motion controller before though.
I'm probably going to say something stupid now - but the cost of a transformer with a suitable output can be infinitely small compared to mastering a new controller :)

Basic in this case is 4 servo axes, synchronized into two pairs. The pairs are geared to each other so the linkages stay synced up. Low speed, push-to-run control. There's no dual-servo countertorque, load cell feedback, G-code, etc., so I wouldn't classify it as complicated. It just needs to move four motors together.

Fiscal budget isn't a problem, just the energy budget.
Maybe these people ?
Or:

No controller needed with the Nidec solution, just share one encoder signal to all drives and make that encoder the master. Or set up a virtual master, network all the drives together and have them all follow the virtual. Such is the simple beauty of these drives . . . and same architecture whether a dinky 1/2 hp drive or a 1500 hp drive.