What's new
What's new

10ee square dial Lead Screw

pier

Plastic
Hi All

I am a newbie in this forum. I just purchase a 10ee and I am in the process of refurbish it. Currently I am in the process of removing the apron, but what is preventing me executing this is the removal of "Lead crew" at the gear-box end. I did remove the tapered pin but the 1" shaft inside the pipe at the gear-box attachment is not moving at all. Do any body have any suggestions of what tool I should be using for this? is there any clamps that can be attached to the shaft for a good pull?

Thank you in advance

Cheers
Pier

Hi All

I am a newbie in this forum. I just purchase a 10ee and I am in the process of refurbish it. Currently I am in the process of removing the apron, but what is preventing me executing this is the removal of "Lead crew" at the gear-box end. I did remove the tapered pin but the 1" shaft inside the pipe at the gear-box attachment is not moving at all. Do any body have any suggestions of what tool I should be using for this? is there any clamps that can be attached to the shaft for a good pull?

Thank you in advance

Cheers
Pier
Welcome aboard!

Here's some instructions for removing the leadscrew and feed-rod:
http://www.practicalmachinist.com/vb/monarch-lathes/directions-apron-removal-250365/#post1853958

Do you still have the carriage and apron in place? If so, the best bet is to just close the half-nuts and use the apron handwheel to jack the leadscrew and feed-rod free. (See the above for details.)

There are a number of variations in the way that the leadscrew and feed-rod attach. Please post some photos.

Cal

Hi All

Thank you in advance

Cheers
Pier

The easiest way is just to engage the half nuts then slide the saddle down the ways towards the tailstock. Usually there is enough leverage that you can just turn the handwheel and it will pull the leadscrew right out without a lot of effort.