What's new
What's new

9" Seneca Falls Star - What is the spindle bore diameter, and can a spindle with a larger bore be installed?

Brandt

Plastic
I'm a newbie machinist who has an opportunity to buy a Seneca Falls 9" Star. I'm finding conflicting information regarding the diameter of the spindle bore (anywhere between 5/16 to 3/4) I'm looking for something I can eventually turn rifle barrels on, so this sounds a bit tight. Can the spindle on these machines be upgraded to something closer to 1"? If so, what does that process look like?

Turm barrels for OD size shape length. turn for refinishing, turn breech end or muzzle end threads or shape.. better lay it all out so the PM guys can give you the best advice.

I'm guessing 3/4 perhaps 15 /16 but just a wild guess. Not anything the change the through bore that with not be a major job.

You can run barrel between centers or with the muzzle in a 4 jaw and the out end in a steady.

Last edited:
It is highly unlikely that any 'optional' spindles were made for that lathe. It is equally unlikely that you could find one if they were made. A 5/16 bore is also unlikely, probably closer to 3/4".

Thank you Gordon and Michanbuck for your help. The seller measured the bore at 3/4". My hope is to be able to take blanks and turn them to be concentric, the breach them. Largely .30 cal bull barrels, so 1" finished diameter would be common. I would also do threading.

The setup I was envisioning is spider - spindle - steady

I'm a newbie machinist who has an opportunity to buy a Seneca Falls 9" Star. I'm finding conflicting information regarding the diameter of the spindle bore (anywhere between 5/16 to 3/4) I'm looking for something I can eventually turn rifle barrels on, so this sounds a bit tight. Can the spindle on these machines be upgraded to something closer to 1"? If so, what does that process look like?