What's new
What's new

A36 Die Set Components

JoeKee

Plastic
I'm new to die design and the stamping industry. I have designed a simple stamping die, generated drawings and now ready to reach out for quotes. There are a few things things I need help understanding so I can start designing for manufacturability from the onset in the future.

1.5" thick x 10" x 20" A36 plates are the upper and lower die shoes

I'm updating the thickness of the material to reflect the machining operations, so correct me where I'm wrong here with these assumptions. To reduce cost to create the part I need, I'm going to assume a shop would rather take a piece of 1.5" thick A36 stock plate and flame cut it. Then blanchard grind .030" off each side, set up in a mill/edm for the machining operations for the dowel holes, threads, thru holes, and cleanup of the perimeter of the plate.

If I take into account the material tolerance (guessing max 1/32) and .030 blanchard operation on each side, it would make more sense to call out a thickness of 1.404 + or - .005 instead.

I'll be designing more and more die sets in the future and I'm really looking to better understand this from what's the most practical and easiest from a machinists perspective so I can reduce cost and create clearer prints.

I'd be submitting the drawing package to a manufacturer to machine and assemble the die set. In that case, would you recommend just using the Danly part number for that die set in my BOM?

If my pressure plates inside the die are 1.25" A36, would it make sense to do what I said above and just assume .030" is going to be shaved off of each side of stock, take into account minimum material thickness, and adjust that 1.25 to reflect it.

I'm no pro but why A36? I get that it's cheap but I always hear it's tough to achieve a good surface finish.

I'd also have concerns about your ground plate warping after machining.