What's new
What's new

Advice for New Large Machine Selection

Millms

Plastic
I am an engineer without machining experience trying to help make the shop overall run more efficiently. Without going too much into detail we make parts for maintenance at the plant. Lots of large long heavy steel workpieces go on our old manual G&Ls. Those machines are just worn out, tired, and would cost half a million or more to get back to original condition. Everything here is manual and I want to start migrating towards CNC with conversational abilities (machinists have been pushing for years). I got some quotes for some vertical mills, I just do not want to buy something that's gonna fail in 5 years, but also I do not know if I can rationalize a 1.5 million+ machine due to the fact we are not a job shop. We do a lot of heavy milling with end mills, face mills, and some of our parts exceed some table type mills. Even if we can't bury endmills like we do now I think CNC is the best way to make the shop more efficient with the dwindling manpower. Too many jobs we could have running in the background while we tear apart other assemblies that are running up maintenance costs for the plant big time. Ideally we want at least a 20'x6' table, 30+ HP (powerful enough to machine steel from cast to hardened), 36" Z travel, still trying to find out heaviest part table load wise, but I would say at least 20ton, CNC with conversational abilities, our machinists have not run CNC in decades in some cases. I feel like this also helps with the nature of our work, sometimes we only have to make slight adjustments like opening up bolt holes, bores, keyways, and whatnot. Also a bit easier to handle for some who may not have ran CNC before.

FlexCNC GM Series: ~$500K, 25'x6' table (no table load limit), 36" Z travel, 40Hp, only 145Ft-lbs max torque (this seems low? But maybe I just don't know any better)