What's new
What's new

Advice on which benchtop CNC mill to get for hobbyist workshop

eranrund

Plastic
Hello!

I'm looking to get a benchtop mill for my hobbyist shop. I would've liked to get a proper knee bridgeport-style machine but weight is a significant consideration since this is inside a raised garage (I live on a house built on a downslope, so the garage ends up being on the 2nd floor... really not ideal but that's what I have to work with. I am mostly learning and I believe the currently most demanding task I need the machine to do is milling 1515 8020 pieces. Specifically, anchor fasteners - which requires a 2-flute 13/16" endmill such as https://8020.net/6060.html. But I'd like to have something I can learn more advanced operations with. This is a hobby but I am happy to spend some $ to get a quality machine. 2-axis CNC capability would be great. Being able to machine some mild steel would be nice too.
Thank you!

Edit: While I am a hobbyist, my budget for this is $10k, which I hopes puts me in the realm of real machines and not toys.

Last edited:
Checkout Rusnok, very nice small professional quality mill.

Also checkout Burke No 4, Diamond, etc mills that were made in the WWII era.

Stay away from currently manufactured chinese style products.

AND, read the guidelines for this forum VERY CAREFULLY. There are classes of machines that are not allowed for discussions....you are right on the ragged edge of getting locked due to those guidelines.