What's new
What's new

Advice wanted for an apprentice beginning his tool collection

Matthew Dudley

Plastic
Machinists,
I am an apprentice machinist start to build my tool collection. I currently work for a small machine shop that supplies most tools and go to Athens Tech which supplies materials and tools. I recently bought two rolling toolboxes that I plan on filling with tools related to the mill and lathe in separate boxes with some common tools in both. My current buy list will be below. Please let me know what tools y’all think I should add or remove from the list. I am thinking about opening my own shop someday, so I would also appreciate some advice on planning for that. I have completed Introduction to Machining, Mills 1, Heat treatment/ Surface Grinding, and Blueprint (GD&T). My Fall 2022 classes are Lathes 1 and Mills 2. I plan on taking CAD/CAM and Lathes 2 in the spring and graduate Fall 2023 from Athens Technical College Precision Machining and Manufacturing program. Projects I have made so far include: drill gage, lathe test bar, precision ground and heat treated v-blocks, rotary step block, machinist soft face hammer ( turned aluminum 3 components), machinist screw jack, surface gauge and t-handled tap wrench. Machines I have operated include a Cleveland Automatic Screw Machine that was used in World War 2 and a Warner and Swasey turret lathe model 3.

Thanks for the information and advice

Mill Box List:
  1. 1x 6” dial calipers
  2. 1 set 0-3” micrometers
  3. 1 box set parallels
  4. 1 set standard wrenches
  5. 1 set metric wrenches
  6. 1 set standard Allen keys
  7. 1 set metric Allen keys
  8. 1 vise handle
  9. 1 pick set
  10. 1 test indicator set
  11. 1 set of common taps ( 1/4-20, 1/4-28, 3/8-16, 3/8-24, 1/2-13, 1/2-20…)
  12. 1 set common end mills (1/4, 3/8, 1/2, 3/4, 1”)
  13. 1 drill index ( 0-1”, #,letter)
  14. 1 set R8 collets ( 1/16 - 1)
  15. 2 keyless drill chucks, R8 shank (0-1/2,1)