What's new
What's new

Air compressor recommendations for home shop

7.3444e

Aluminum
Hey guys newb here at practical machinist. I am hoping for some recommendations on a air compressor for a home shop. I've read a ton on the internet but having a problem pinning down a decent compressor that will fit my needs. I am a buy once cry once type of person and usually try to buy good quality that will last a long time. I am just a hobbyist so not looking to spend a ton of money. Wondering if anyone can recommend a decent compressor in the 1000 to $1,500 range, 230 volt, but hoping to find a compressor that turns at a lower RPM. I don't know if this is possible in my price range. From the research I have done a low RPM compressor will not only last longer but is also more quiet. From what I can tell the Quincy's that are in my price range are the higher RPM models ( 3200 RPM?), and are probably not made like the more expensive ones. Looking for something no larger than 60 gallons. If a low RPM compressor is not possible in my price range hoping for some recommendations on a decent compressor to fit my needs. Basically just run air tools but may do some painting once I build a shop at my next home. Been looking at Eastwoods, Quincy's, IR, and a few others but most websites do not list the motor RPMs so it's been difficult to find something. Thanks for any help

The big question is new or used? If you look there are always 5hp used compressors around for sale. 5hp will be more than enough for a home shop unless you want to do sand blasting. You are over thinking this. Just find a used 5hp in decent condition and be done with it. If it's got to be new then you likely want a top of the line 5hp and will have to pay up. In my opinion new is not worth it in a hobby shop.