What's new
What's new

Alliant Bridgeport clone head noise

jeepinmatt

Aluminum
I’m trying to diagnose a noise on the head of my Alliant 42VC Bridgeport clone. Instead of spending hours chasing something, I figure someone on here has dealt with this before. Here’s a video (sorry for the movement, I was trying to video, hold the flashlight, and unplug the cord all at the same time):

I recently had it apart to replace the belt because it was missing a chunk. The spindle end was buttery smooth and the motor was buttery smooth. The pulley had a very small amount of surface rust in a couple spots that I took care of with a scotch bright, but didn’t seem like anything that would cause an issue. New belt, and new bearing on the top of the front end vari-speed pulley. I also plan to replace the backend bottom bearing, but the noise is the same with the cover in place or removed. It is worse ant lower RPMs. Anybody got any insight? Bad belt maybe? It looks smooth to me, but I’m no expert.

Last edited:
Would that be more for the slip/squeak as it stops, or slapping/flapping while it’s running? The slapping is my main concern.
I'd try it mainly because it's cheap, fast, and may cure both issues. May even be a hard/stiff spot in a belt thats been sitting on a shelf for years( causing the slapping sound ). Maybe leave it run for hours and see if it settles down.