What's new
What's new

Another "What to Buy Question"

Status
Not open for further replies.

jmltinc

Plastic
Sorry to bother with another of these questions (you must get a million), but I am whipped and need advice as I am a Mill Newbie. First, I must say I have had a lot of projects that went by the wayside for lack of a mill, but I cannot in good faith tell you a max size I would require.

I have researched tabletop mills for what seems a lifetime (years, actually). Being a Newb, there is a lot to absorb. I was gung-ho on a Sieg S2D style, but realized the column was a big weak point for me (vibration) and turned to the littlemachineshop.com fixed column alternate. It wasn't long before I realized all those machines were just too small. I found this: https://www.toolots.com/vm25l-d3a-ssssssssss-c9165-vm25l-d3a-mmywjtqym.html/ng-frontend//#/productDetail?id=68566&title=VM25L-D%207"%20x%2027"%20Benchtop%20Milling%20Machine%20Variable%20Speed%20100-2250%20RPM%20%201.5HP(1100W)%20Brushless%20Compact%20Mill%20Drill%20with%20R8%20Spindle%20and%203-Axis%20DRO and thought I FOUND IT - 1 1/2 HP, large table, full-featured DRO... But by inference from various posts on another forum regarding vises, I realized the Y-Axis is lacking. My budget (on just the mill) has grown from $1k to $2,800 in one week (I guess after a lifetime that is called progress).

Is the Y-Axis travel appropriate, or can I do better?

Maybe I should approach this from a different angle - that is ask for recommendations. I am willing to shell-out $2,800 (which includes shipping) but my needs are:
- Has to be a tabletop
- Will work on mild steel
- Longest table I can have
- Longest Y-Axis I can have
- Now I know about T Slots and vise - the proper combination
- Good DRO
- Something that can mill a surface without leaving marks
- And anything I haven't thought of

I know I asked a lot and there will be compromise. May I ask for recommendations before you folks having enough of me?