What's new
What's new

As an aspiring CNC Job Shop owner, where can I go to learn the trade?

Pistonring12

Plastic
As of right now I’m a high school student finishing my final year. I plan to start my own CNC job shop as my future source of income. I have chosen to write this thread in this forum, as I hope some of you who have lengthy experience in the industry could advise me in what program I should pursue in college or somewhere else in order to acquire CNC theory/hands-on knowledge. From my personal research I have discovered one program known as “Mechatronics” which seems to target some of what I wish to learn, but that’s all I know a the moment. If anyone knows what program I should look into and where I should go to pursue it, please let me know asap. FYI Im located near Toronto Ontario, Canada Thanks!

Last edited:
I didn't do this track, but you might want to look at your local community college. I seem to remember that being an option all those years ago. I grew up in NY and you could do these types of programs at a vocational school called BOCES while in high school, but a lot of the same programs were available at the community college next door if you wanted to do it after graduation.