What's new
What's new

Auto-Calibration of CNC Router

kungfoo

Plastic
Hello all,

I'm quite new to machining, and even newer to CNC, and this is my very first post to PM, so please pardon me if I'm repeating a topic.

I'm in the early stages of producing a design concept for building a home CNC router. This design concept calls for cheap ball-screws and the ability to run auto-cal cycles of 10,000 or so calibration points. For example, if I use one ball screw on either side of the gantry, then they will not move at the same rate and so the gantry would never really be square.

Ideally, I'd like to find some physical principle or instrument that I could use to do (preferably sub) micrometer calibrations in an automated fashion over a distance of 1 meter or so. I'm sure I could drop $150k or so and get a laser interferometer that could do the trick, but I'd rather spend a bit less and maybe build it myself.

Anyone have any recommendations?

Thanks,
Harrison

PS: Yes, I am fully aware of the fact that my home-made little CNC router is NOT going to hold sub-micrometer accuracy and that I'm talking about doing static calibrations WELL BELOW the amount of dynamic inaccuracy I'm going to encounter from silly little things like operating the motor and...well...this still sounds like fun.

Hello all,

I'm quite new to machining, and even newer to CNC, and this is my very first post to PM, so please pardon me if I'm repeating a topic.

I'm in the early stages of producing a design concept for building a home CNC router. This design concept calls for cheap ball-screws and the ability to run auto-cal cycles of 10,000 or so calibration points. For example, if I use one ball screw on either side of the gantry, then they will not move at the same rate and so the gantry would never really be square.