What's new
What's new

Bad chatter marks when profiling tight corners

stephon0913

Plastic
looking for some advice when profiling tight (sometimes close to a vertical wall) corners on patterns. these are made from a red urethane called tooling board. Its fairly hard stuff. the issue is that some of the corners have to be filleted pretty tight (up to 1/16 fillet) that mean getting into tight corners with a 1/8" ball endmill sometimes having to hang my tool out up to 3 inchs. I work in the pattern industry similar to mold making, however molds usually have enough draft along the walls to not have to worry about this. because of the tool length i need, any chatter i get while cutting rides up the side of the wall and looks horrible. ive attatched some pic showing what im talking about. because of the almost vertical walls i cannot use a tapered tool holder. Any advice or suggestions to this issue?

thanksIMG_0898.jpgIMG_0899.jpgIMG_0897.jpg

Are you programming your fillet tool right up to the wall? Try leaving .001 to .002 per side on the walls so the tool won't actually touch the already machined surfaces.

That second picture looks like tool deflection. Is it possible to slow the rpm's down when in the areas giving you grief?

yes. It's all from tool deflection, im using a 1/4 ball endmill thats hanging out 3" from the collet. i usually run these at 12k rpm at 50 ipm about .001 chipload per tooth. I have tried slowing it with very limited success.

I would try a long reach stub flute ball endmill from Harvey tool and maybe even have them reduce the l.o.c. to just above the ball radius. I would imagine a tool that long and skinny might start to whip at those spindle speeds, I would cut back to maybe even 2 to 3k just to see if you can get it to cut without chatter and then work the speeds up.