What's new
What's new

Best Aluminum Alloy for Bending That Can Be Heat Treated

Th961605

Plastic
I'm currently planning out a job for hanging brackets that involves bending 1/8" thick, 3/4" wide aluminum bar into fairly tight curves (24 degrees with a 1.25" radius). These will need to be really bend resistant after forming, so I'm thinking I'll do a solution-based heat treat after. I know 1xxx, 3xxx, 4xxx, and 5xxx alloys are not heat treatable, which leaves me with 2024 (expensive), 6061 (not good for forming), and some others that only come in very limited formats like angle. This is a large job, so annealing each piece prior to bending isn't an option. I keep coming back to 6063, which is considered highly formable, heat treatable, and inexpensive (~$10 for an 8' bar). I'm still new to this though, so any input would be appreciated (is there a better steel alloy out there that I'm missing?). Finish is the last consideration--I know 6063 is corrosion resistant, and this is for an indoor application, so the cost of powdercoating/annodizing steel would be something that a 6063 wouldn't need.

Easy or hard way bend? Either way not a tight bend at all. Almost any al could do this without issue without heat treating. Almost- aluminum sometimes decides to flake, crack, or flour just because it’s Tuesday.
Personally aluminum is nasty to work with in almost every respect.
Just do it in stainless flat bar? Not sheared plate, rolled bar.
Steel, boring a36, maybe only 1018 cr at that size. Cheap, lovely to work with. Cost of powder coating is cheap- really cheap compared to heat treating or looking at aluminum, and you do not have to contaminate your work space with cooties.

I really dislike working in aluminum.

Hard way bend, have them laser cut.

That's not a tight bend radius for the thickness of material. You should be able to bend it without any issues.