What's new
What's new

Brass repair recommendations

bobte2

Plastic
I am just starting down the path of machining to assist in watch restoration. I have a question on approach to restore an antique watch tool.
The shafts are loose in the brass holders and should align point to point. See photos. The steel shafts fit in the device and should smoothly and evenly touch points (they do not as the brass has worn over the years. I am thinking about drilling the brass to consistent size all the way through then brass sleeves to fit the steel shafts (the shafts are very consistent in diameter). Another thought was to drill the brass to consistent size and make new steel point shafts. Any other thoughts or suggestions?

Thanks in advance and apologies as I am new to the forum and may be in the wrong place.

Thanks,
BobIMG_4378.jpgIMG_4379.jpgIMG_4380.jpgIMG_4381.jpgIMG_4377.jpg

I'm no expert on watchmaking tools or antiques, so take any thoughts for what they're worth.

I'd be inclined to keep as much original as possible, which says use the original steel, particularly since it's still in good shape. So that takes you to sleeving the other parts.

Since you have two separate parts as carriers for the rods, you'll have to do careful setup to ensure that the new holes/sleeves and concentric and square. You can't just depend on a larger drill making the correct hole if the wear is in any way not symmetrical. That means boring, and not simply drilling through. A D-bit might work correctly once everything is indicated in.

That is called an uprighting tool and was generally used when fitting a new cock or bridge to a plate. Did you look closely at the 2 halves to see if they are marked? Try it with all possible alignments.
One can achieve the same in a variety of ways, an inverto staking set, a reasonably well equipped watchmakers lathe or a faceplate with a pump center are a few that come to mind.