What's new
What's new

Calling subprogram from inside macro

GiroDyno

Cast Iron
I have a 'master' program that begins with a macro 'subprogram' that does a bunch of probing to test for parts and set offsets based on user inputs A, B and C. There are also some 'subroutines' (What I'm calling a program that is inside the master program, as opposed to a subprogram which would be saved independently on the controller)
Based on the macro results there is some logic to decide which of the subroutines I need to run; for example I may only have 1 part loaded and it needs the CW slots, or I may have 2 parts and the first needs CCW and the second needs CW...
Is there a way to call up those subroutines (located in the master) from my macro subprogram (independent from the master)?
What I can do right now is save some variables from my O5678 macro and use those to do logic inside my O1234 master, but I like the idea of making updates to the O5678 macro program and it automatically applies to all the different masters. We may have 20 different part #s running in a day (each with its own master and subroutines), which means I may have to make the same edit 20 different times... If I can call the subroutine from inside the macro then I only change it once and all 20 run the updated cycle.

Hope that makes sense, its got my head spinning this afternoon!

Example code "layout" shown here:

O1234 (MASTER PROGRAM)
G65 P5678 A1 B2 C3 (PROBING MACRO)
M97 P501
M97P502
M30

N501 (CLOCKWISE SLOTS)
M99
N501 (COUNTERCLOCKWISE SLOTS)
M99

O5678 (PROBING MACRO)
(PROBING)
(LOGIC)
I want to run P501 (CW SLOTS) from O1234 here
M30

"I want to run P501 (CW SLOTS) from O1234 here"

This is possible.

Note that if a macro calls a subprogram, the subprogram will use the local variables of the macro.

Last edited:
Hello GiroDyno,