What's new
What's new

camel back drill press

todda323

Aluminum
Hey all, although I have been stalking here for a while this is my first time posting. I am quite possibly biting off more than I can chew this time. With a post drill project still in process I am seriously considering taking this on additionally for the winter. Now I have to explain that I have no experience with these drills but I believe I possess a fraction of common sense, a hair of mechanical ability and the annoying habit of asking too many questions of those who can tell me what chews fingers off (I still have all nine of em). I have never owned one and if I'm lucky that may change. This appears to be a Rockwell 20" There aren't quite enough photos for my liking and the definition is not quite what I would like so I am going to take a trip to look in person. If anyone has any input as to what to look for, suggestions, experiences, parts that are commonly damaged or missing etc., photos of things I should look for as missing or damaged let er rip please! I definitely don't want to get myself in to something I wish I had asked questions about before hand. I know to check babbitt bearings, the frame for cracks and damage, gears for excessive wear/play and missing teeth, maybe take a dial indicator and check for run out on the quill (what would be acceptable or repairable?) I believe the motor looks like it may be a 3 phase. No photos of the tag. It seems I read somewhere someone had a Rockwell with a 1ph. Maybe repowered? Does anyone have any idea of age or when Rockwell quit making the 20"? Oh I may post this thread on other forums in search of information so please don't be offended if you see it again. I'm just in search of as much information and input as I can get in a short time.

Thanks so much for everyone's input. You all are great and I look forward to the conversation and information.

Attachments

• 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    60.5 KB · Views: 121
  • 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    61.2 KB · Views: 124