What's new
What's new

cincinnati 207mk info

dodgy roge

Plastic
hello my name is roger , im a machinist living and working on the channel island of jersey (uk), me and my partner are buying a cincinnati milling machine of ebay.co.uk ,item no 300045973653 for approx £1600 (around $2500 ish), were taking a gamble and just getting it shipped to us without prior viewing from the mainland.
i was wondering if anyone reading this has any experience of operating or owning one of these machines, ie are they a good machine compared to say a milwauki or gambin 3m???
Are there any weaknesses i should be wary of?
Were going to use the machine for general ,ad hock, kind of work we get over here such as machining parts for fabrication work, general machine modifications and repairs, also im planning to set up a fly cutter for cylinder head skimming as we been asked a lot for this service. one of my concerns is the lack of hand wheels on the main table, just the geared link to the front wheel, is this ok in use?
Weve seen a similar machine at a dealer nearly £6000 so im hoping its all going to be ok. Weve also bought a j&s 540 surface grinder in with thefc deal

I have TWO 207MK, one a horizontal with a universal head, and a CNC 207MK Vertical mill, that I turned into a push buttom operated manual mill. These aren't Cincinnati's finer machines. I have a #2 and a #5 Cincinnati vertical mill, and they don't compare. The hydraulic system needs to be kept clean, with some filters that you have to KNOW where they are at. I've replaced a few gears in the knee, as well as the clutch packs. My horizontal mill has had the knee removed more than I've run it. The base of these machines is FABRICATED- nothing like the older all cast machines. I look at my Cinci #5 with awe- the 207MK's really went backwards.