What's new
What's new

Clausing 5914 Lathe Threading Problem

NonSheep

Plastic
Hello, I have an old beat-to-death Clausing model 5914 lathe. For years I have pondered why I can't thread on it, so today I want to ask for help or ideas how to adjust or repair it.
I am a novice machinist, but I am not dim witted. I know the fundamentals of threading, and I can adjust the knobs/levers, but the thread pitch this lathe cuts, is not the same thread selected (see photos). One thing I have observed is that on the A-B-C knob, it only adjusts A & B, but I only want "B" anyway, I just need to cut 40tpi & 32tpi. I have never taken the gear box open, but I can see signs of some FrankenHack work on the motor mounting so anything is possible internally. Does anyone have a starting point I can try to fix my issue here?
ClausingLathe_20230709_213252963.jpgClausingLathe-40threads_20230709_212837680.jpgClausingLathe-32threads_20230709_212709118.jpgClausingLathe_20230709_213233860.jpg

that flat bottom thread looks very odd. and the other doesn't fit the gauge.
*Are you engaged with the half nut and using the threading lever?
*Is the part soft enough to file? too hard and it will turn the tool post.
A lathe that turns an Od well should thread well
Possible your cutting edge is not sharp enough.
Possible that you are not at 30 and so trying to cut with the whole bit/insert at once.
Possibly the headstock is \pushing away from tool pressure.
Possibly something wrong in the saddle or compound.
I would give a hard push-pull on the chuck perhaps with a 2x2 under an indicator
Give a hard by-hand push-pull on the tool holder.
Inspect my tool bit to shave a fingernail.
*Be sure the tool post can tighten properly.
Try turning the compound to and feed at *30

Last edited: