What's new
What's new

Corner rounding end mill problems

Franke

Plastic
I am a vet who has taken on a new job as a design programmer using Fusion 360. I work at a small shop with about 25 Haas mills and lathes. It is a "learn as you go" situation. I am not a machinist or programmer by training.

I am trying to put a radius on a square block about 8" long which I have in a vise and must turn four times. I must put a radius on each arris of the block. All of the toolpaths seem to be working but my corner rounding end mill has been a nightmare. I have been fooling with the pilot diameters and height offsets for days. When I get the tool correct for coming down one face then when it turns the corner to go round the end and down the other face the pilot gouges the material at the point of tangency perpendicular to the vertical face. It looks good along one face but is completely wrong for the opposite face in the same plane. This happens even when I use a dedicated tool model for each face of my part/turn of the stock in the vise.

I am desperate for a solution. Any help will be warmly appreciated.

Please give the length ,width and heigth of the block.How is the block being machined to size AND squared up and what are the tolerances? Do you have a good solid end stop when you reposition your block? .003 or.004 size difference and a few thousands out of square can easily add up and cause gouging. Edwin Dirnbeck

If you are corner rounding all 12 edges with corner rounding EM, it would take 4 setups. Top Bottom Left Right. One would usually interpolate the sides to avoid excess handling

I have been fooling with the pilot diameters and height offsets for days.

Why? There is only 1 pilot diameter and 1 height offset.

A) is the block already milled to the correct length and width? I assume yes but you never know.
B) Are you hand programming this or using Cad/Cam software?