What's new
What's new

Di-Acro 14-72 Press Brake Not Flat? Bent Parts Have Uneven Bends in Center of Length

Econdron

Hot Rolled
I just purchased a used Di-Acro 14-72, 35 ton press brake. I'm very new to press brakes, this is my first time even using a press brake. I'm bending 18ga sheet at 50" long using a 3/8" V-Die, bending a 1" flange. I dialed in the machine so I'm getting a 90 degree bend, which is 90 on both length ends of the flange, but in the center, it's under bent by a couple degrees. Upon inspection, when I jog the machine down, I can see a very slight visible gap between the dies in the center when the ends of the dies are lined up. I replaced the top die, no change, replaced the lower die, no change. Granted all the tooling is used and came with the machine, but I don't think it's the tooling. As far as I can see, the machine has no adjustment for leveling the die.

Is there a common wear point on these machines that occasionally needs to be re-machined or replaced? Or is it somewhat common practice to use shims to level the tooling?

IIRC there is a shop offering mobile machining services to re-cut the die & punch surfaces flat.

Yup, very common issue. I use brass shims as they don't really stick to the dies when flipping them. My primary bottom die is a 4 way die

That is less than 1/2 capacity, deflection shouldn't be a problem. You can measure the dies to see if they are worn, you can also remove the dies, close the brake, and check for uniformity of gap. You can then shim as necessary.

One real quick way to asses an old press brake is to look at the paint on the ram. If the paint in the middle shows evidence of cracking and chipping off while the paint towards the edges is better, you got a good chance that brake's had a real hard life.