What's new
What's new

Diluting of neat sliding head cutting oil

turner13

Aluminum
Good day folks.
I'm currently running 4 Citizen sliding head machines overnight and weekends (lights out).
I'm machining stainless grade 303.
My main problem is that the machines keep stopping at some point because of a coolant level alarm (please supply the coolant).
The reason for this is, because my neat cutting oil is so viscous, it sticks to my chip conveyor and eventually drips through into my swarf bin.
If i don't keep the chip conveyor on, the machine fills with swarf and the coolant gathers above this and the level in the tank falls again.

I'm using Duracut ST12 cutting fluid.

Has anyone had any experience in perhaps diluting this to make it less thick so it wont stick to the conveyor as much, or is this a really bad idea for tool life etc?#

Many thanks,

T13.

I have no experience with swiss, oil, lights out, or your machines, but a couple ideas.

When running lights out, can you program a dwell once in a while to allow oil to return to the tank? Yes you would be losing time, but better than a hard stop.

Can you move the level sensor lower in the tank?

Is your conveyor clean? What I mean is, have you taken it out and inspected the return passages to see if they are clogged? If partially clogged, it could obviously contribute to the problem.

Can the volume of the tank be expanded by adding a "buffer tank" that increases the volume? A simple extra tank with a hose running between bungs down low on the tank is what I'm suggesting here.

2 hour later edit: Can you program your conveyor to turn on and off at intervals? Or install a timer on it?

Last edited:
On the lathes running with cutting oil I always used the interval for the conveyor to not fill the swarf bin with oil.

Now that you say that, I think I might understand the issue with the OP a little better.