What's new
What's new

DIY Roller Rack & Pinion - Need solution from experienced machinists

denhen89

Plastic
Hello Guys,
i am not sure if i have ever posted something here, so i will introduce myself as briefly as possible: I am just a hobby machinist who has build a couple of machines like for example a 4x8 CNC Router (linear rails and ballscrews on all axis) and also i converted a old Polish heavy industrial Lathe to CNC with Linear rails, ball screws and servo motors. In near future i would like to use the machines for a side business.

I am currently thinking to machine my own Roller rack and pinion system. (like the NEXXEN RPS)
When it comes to the pinion, i will soon have what i need to machine it very precisly on my CNC Router. I have ordered a 80:1 harmonic drive that i will set up like a vertical lathe machine, but i will not loose time to explain how i exactly will do it, because i think its not that difficult.
But, when it comes to the rack i need some help. The rollers that will run on the rack are from bearing steel (HRC ~60) , and therefor the rack should be be hardened as well and here is the problem:
After hardening, the rack would need to be ground on a grinding machine. Is there any way to avoid the grinding process?

I thought about this options:
- Laser hardening the rack: (i have read that after laser hardening, the grinding process can be avoided. I have contact one company here in Poland, but i am waiting for a reply)
- Brass Rollers or other alternative material: Instead of standard bearing-steel rollers, i could for example use ground brass rollers (havent found such brass rollers to buy) which would run on a e.g. hot-rolled steel rack. I am not sure how fast the rollers would worn out, compared to bearing steel rollers on a hardened steel rack, but the Rollers could be replaced very quickly, without dissambly of the pinion or the rack.