What's new
What's new

Do you use G90 and G94 on a lathe with G-code System A?

sinha

Titanium
Nobody seems to be talking about these cycles (G90 and G94), though these are very convenient for turning / taper turning and facing / taper facing, respectively. People tend to use G71 / G72 for simple cases as well.
Nothing wrong in it.
What I am wondering is, should these cycles be a part of a CNC training course?
Why teach something which a person would never use!

I sometimes work part time on weekends at a company when they need someone and the main lathe guy there loves the G94 facing cycle.
I have never seen anyone use G90 though.

The reason why I asked this question is this:
Most of my books are too detailed, hence may not be very suitable for absolute beginners. I am, therefore, in the process of writing another book for those who know nothing about CNC programming. This will cover only lathe programming.
I have just started, and it will take several months.
Based on the response to my query, I am thinking to exclude the description of G90 and G94.

Honestly, I never used those cycles because like you said, even for a simple profile I just use G71/G72.

Something I didn’t find in books was how to calculate tool radius compensation for a profile feature and manually applying it; most of what I learned in that regard was either by researching this forum and reading old threads, asking questions at this forum (thanks angelw) or self-learning using a CAD software.

Cheers

I sometimes work part time on weekends at a company when they need someone and the main lathe guy there loves the G94 facing cycle.
I have never seen anyone use G90 though.
I use G94 regularly as well.

If I was taking a CNC class, I would like the instructor to cover as much as possible. Gives the student more cutting options to consider. I had a half-semester CNC course before starting my own shop. Learned the rest with the books that came with the machines.

Bill