What's new
What's new

Fanuc Robodrill Cleanup and Maintenance

Djwade

Aluminum
Hi All,

I appreciate the input that I've received thus far across a few topics, but felt it probably made the most sense to keep things consolidated under one thread that is focused on going through the machine, and relevant questions that come up that I haven't been able to locate an answer with searching.

Brief backstory: Spent a while looking for a CNC that would fit into my low ceiling garage. I work as a mechanical engineer doing medical devices for my day job, the vast majority of which is in plastics. As such, the only machine I have access to at work for internal prototyping is a Tormach 770, which, for our needs at work, is fine, but not exactly ideal for what I would like to do . I wanted something more capable for my own work, and after lots of searching for what would be in my budget, I ended up with a Fanuc "robodrill" Drill Mate T-Model 10. I've gotten it powered up and operational on a phase perfect, switched out the backup batteries, backed up my parameters, and really just tried to familiarize myself with the controls and the operation.

I've finally had the time to start digging through, cleaning things up, and trying to get a general idea of the condition of the machine. I have most of the manuals. The operator manual was missing half the pages, but I have a new one on order from Fanuc in the meantime, and have been reading through the recommended maintenance and lubrication, etc.

I've started pulling off the way covers to see the condition of the linear ways/trucks and ballscrews. According to the previous owner, the machine only ever saw delrin and acrylic for 99% of their work, and, well, the chips under the covers certainly support that.

IMG_20211020_142718.jpg