What's new
What's new

Finer bore finish needed

bikemutt

Aluminum
With a lathe:

I'm taking about 0.0015" off the inside wall of an existing 0.260" hole in brass, depth is about 0.25", hole is open ended.

I started with a Micro 100 boring bar from Grainger as shown in the picture. I'm going in slow with lube and doing a spring pass on the way back out, the only thing I'd like now is a smoother finish. Not a NASA part, I don't have the ability to quantify the surface finish, just be nice to see more shine, less matte.

I've looked at other boring bars which appear as if they may be a tad more blunt, but nothing in the specs says they are designed specifically for finish cuts.

Also looked at the roller burnishers online but I have no experience with them.

Emery cloth for an outside I can imagine, not sure how I'd make it work on the inside.

Figured I'd ask the experts here for their suggestions.

Thank you.

Grainger Boring Bar.jpg

Stoning a small radius on the corner will help. A sharp corner is preferred for cutting to size like going in with that cutter since the square end cut presents less side pressure. A rounded end will create a smoother surface finish with the possibility of more springback.

All above are good — super cheap version is this:

Cut a slit in the end of a wooden dowel and put a strip of fine abrasive paper in the slit. Wind the paper around the dowel and place in hole with lathe running. Push in and out a few time and see. This is obviously not the answer if you have to make many parts.

All above are good — super cheap version is this:

Cut a slit in the end of a wooden dowel and put a strip of fine abrasive paper in the slit. Wind the paper around the dowel and place in hole with lathe running. Push in and out a few time and see. This is obviously not the answer if you have to make many parts.