What's new
What's new

First CNC machine - help!

darcus

Plastic
Hi Super Noob here

I am still waiting for our first cnc machine to arrive so haven't had a chance to try this yet.

I am wondering if it's possible to turn the outside of a bush with just one tool?

I am using bar fed 35mm diameter C45 material, the od of the bush is going to be 31.185mm maximum. It has a 30 degree chamfer going down to 27mm on both the front and the rear face.

Initially, I was thinking of using one tool to do the front chamfer and reduce the diameter down and then use the parting tool to produce the rear chamfer and then part off.

Is this how you seasoned machinists would approach it?

Or could I use a WTENN2020K16 type holder with a TNMG1604 insert to do both front and rear chamfers as well as reduce the diameter:
1711025556270.png
I was thinking of using G71 to produce the profile I need but I am unsure if this is the right way to go about it.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Initially, I was thinking of using one tool to do the front chamfer and reduce the diameter down and then use the parting tool to produce the rear chamfer and then part off.

For 1 piece, sure.
For multiple parts, no.
You want 1 tool to rough, and 1 tool to finish.
Ideally I would use a CNMG to face, chamfer and turn, then use the part off tool to do the back chamfer and part off.

For 1 piece, sure.
For multiple parts, no.

I would add the caveat for very easy to machine, short chipping materials, like free machining brass, one tool will work great and reduce the cycle time. For tougher stuff and tight tolerance you need to rough and finish. Roughing the skin off will relieve internal stress that may be present. One thin bushings or tight tolerance bushings, it is also advisable to part a groove almost through to break the internal stress transfer that can occur on the stock end of the bushing.