What's new
What's new

First Employee for 2 yr old shop

Miller846

Aluminum
Good Morning, I just wanted to run this by all of you as I am new to hiring and being an employer. I have been needing a operator/setup guy for a while and have struck out on two employees so far. Both were hired with no prior machine shop experience. The first one was a 21 yr old guy who was with me for 3 weeks before I fired him. He worked really well when he was here and learned how to set the machines up quickly, but after a week he started showing up late and calling in more than he was here, each time with a different excuse as to why he couldn’t come in. I had a talk with him about it, he tried calling in the next day and I gave him a final warning to which he started talking back and I canned him on the spot. The second one is working for me still currently, but I don’t think he will workout either. He’s a 19 year old, has no prior machine shop work experience but did take a cnc mill course at a community college. He shows up every day early and is very respectful, but is extremely slow, has already been caught on his phone while machines are waiting, and can’t even grasp the simplest of things like cleaning the chips out of a vice before loading a new part or how to properly use a file. The first guy, I hired on at 18hr to start, due to no prior experience, my current guy is at 20.50/hr to start due to him having completed at least a mill course (which is proving to not be worth anything). I’m finding myself doing everything still while he watches because I can’t trust that he will clean the vices off well enough before loading more parts even after talking to him and showing him about 10-15 times. So with that being said, I think I’m going to give him the boot this week and try to find another person. My question is, is it better to just hire someone with a few years experience for a first employee? I don’t have the money to really hire someone with a bunch of experience as I am s