What's new
What's new

First Lathe: 1942 Monarch 14C

When I worked as a quality engineer, we had a material that could be used to make a castings of thread and other internal features. You would fill half of the thread, let it harden for a few minutes, then pop the casting out and measure the thread form/pitch/whatever on the optical compactor. Flexbar makes the stuff, and I imagine that there are other sources. Dentists use something similar for making dental impressions.
There's a metal called cerrobase or cerrosafe used for casting lo-temp impressions.

As Ive said here before ....the most effective bed scrapers Ive used were the brass/bronze knife edge type,held to the bed by small coil springs ...........any kind of soft material gets loaded up with swarf ,and forms an effective bed scoring unit.
Hi John,
My thoughts are in line with your statements... have you seen this youtube video before? This guy comes up with a product that seems perfect in my mind... now just have to find something similar over here in the States.

Not a ton of work directly on the lathe to update, but am in the process of trying to fix the handles that are broken. When I bought some bits from member "guythatbrews" he threw in a few extra handles he had from his Monarch and it turns out one is a perfect swap for a broken one I had.... the other broken one was the lead screw engagement handle, which is a bit critical, so I'm going through the process to fix it properly. Just cleared it up and got it ready to braise. I'm going to have to try and pick up the original taper pin hole which is not ideal so any suggestions on doing that without making a dogs breakfast of the handle would be great!

Also got some of the interior parts of the castings I've removed coated in Glyptal and filled the major casting defects on the surface with epoxy. Next step is to paint with the new color and see how it all looks.