What's new
What's new

First Mill Setup and Refurbishment

kuczmarm

Plastic
I am an experienced Automation Engineer taking a leap from steady employment to independent contracting. I've spent my career in CNC machine shops and have made most of the parts for my projects myself so, while I'm no machinist, I can make my own basic parts. I purchased myself a 2J Series 1. It's mostly in good condition, it was just in a filthy garage covered with motor oil and chips. The upside of the motor oil is it is absolutely rust-free and the dovetails and sliding surfaces are very clean.

I have 2 questions:
Firstly, I have the machine bolted down to 2 4' treated 4x4s from when I hauled it. I've seen posts on this forum asking what to put the machine on instead of 4x4s. My question is if the machine is already pretty level on the 4x4s, is there any reason it can't stay on them? It's a perfect height for moving with a pallet jack and they should do a decent job protecting my concrete.
Second, everything seems like it has pretty low backlash and is pretty tight with the exception of the head tilt (L to R). There is A LOT of slop and I imagine I will have a rough time keeping my mill surface parallel with the table if I don't do anything about it. What are the recommended vendors for rebuilding parts?

Wooden 4x4s are not usually consistent in their dimensions. Will you need to move once it's in your shop?
The head tilt gears do not mesh tightly and their purpose is to rotate the head to the desired angle. The four nuts on the head keep it in alignment after tramming or setting to the correct angle. Do not over tighten these, as they are threaded onto T-bolts located in the knuckle casting. And be careful if you ever move the head to an extreme angle. as the shaft that turns the worm gear is a weak point in the design.