What's new
What's new

Follower rests, and turning DOM tube

Scott70

Plastic
Hello all.
Im getting beat to hell on a job and could use some input.
My project is turning down 82" of 1.625 OD x 0.875 ID DOM tube. Final size is 1.577" Tolerance is roller +/- 0.0015. This is a turndown prior to final sizing on a grinder and hard chrome plating (at a different shop). Final product is a hollow hydraulic cylinder rod. I am running a TOS SN50c and I have about 60" between centers to work with. I have a follower rest and a fixed steady, as well as live center and a 3 jaw tailstock chuck. This is my first attempt running a follower rest. I have to mount my follower on the LHS of the carriage because my DRO scale is mounted on the RHS and it interferes. I can reach just past the follower if I use my compound. Im cutting the material in halves, about 45" from chuck to tailstock.
I tried using roller tips in the follower rest and as soon as I get about 8 inches away from the tailstock it sets up a chatter that I cannot get control over. My feed is 0.005 ipr, 0.01 DOC, 180rpm.

I bailed on that setup, and attempted to do it in thirds, about 30" from chuck to tailstock, with similar chatter issues. I bailed on the follower rest and managed to cut that section without chatter, but the surface finish is poor, I assume due to the low RPM, soft material and tiny DOC, but it will probably get the job done.

I have a set of solid (steel...? ) tips I may try, and I am considering ordering some bearing bronze to make solid tips out of.
I have read up on box tools, I like the idea and may attempt to build one, but the way i was set up was pretty much like a box tool, so I wonder if its a waste of time.
Any advice or insight would be appreciated.
Regards, Scott.