What's new
What's new

FP2 Z axis rocking

There are several ways to skin a cat
You used Rulon Perhaps that is obtainable in 0.4mm
I never found Turcite that size
Last time I softsolder a piece of square brass on the pulling end of the shim This makes for a sharper bend
I have steel shims 40mm wide in several thicknesses

Peter

Not 100% relevant to this thread, but it's a subject that I've been thinking about lately and we are talking about Z rocking:

Ross (@AlfaGTA ), you have mentioned in several occasions that the late Z gib configuration, like the one on the machine discussed in this thread is designed so that both vertical box ways support the carriage against rocking. Have you actually confirmed this on your 3?
I haven't seen a late 2 or 3 in person, so I have no personal experience, but you do have a late 3 (late 3 in that it has the final version Z/X carriages. First gen FP3s have the gib as on your first gen FP2s).

The position of the gib says nothing regarding which of the box ways does the supporting: gib between the ways could still work employing the right box way only...
I'd be grateful if someone could satisfy my curiosity...

Many thanks,
Thanos

The vertical gib setups vary depending on the era and size of the machine.
Early manual machines carry the support of the vertical slide on both side faces of the operators side box way...That is to say on the inside and outside faces of the same box.....
On later builds and with the FP-NC's the support is carried between the inner faces of both the right and left box.
My guess here is that Deckel improved its grinding capability to allow precision grinding of both inside faces of the vertical box. This would have required a larger grinding machine and better process control.