What's new
What's new

Generating DXF From Spline Dimension Data

racing240

Plastic
Hello,

I am a student on a formula SAE EV team. I have the external spline shaft, RCV FSAE Miata Outboard Tripod Housing, and have the spindle which I need to cut an internal spline into. Below is the data for the external spline

ANSI standard B92.2M-1980 (B92-2Ma-1984)
26 Involute Splines
1 Mod
45° Pressure angle
Class 5 fit

I have found the dimensions for the internal spline from the ANSI standard B92.2M-1980 (B92-2Ma-1984) and now need to make a DXF file for our machinist to input into the EDM machine to cut the splines. I am currently trying to use MITCalc's Shafts Connection using Keys and Splines extension to generate the spline DXF but I am not sure I am doing it correctly. Mainly with validating if the DXF is correct. Any help would be appreciated!

have you checked the Machinery's Handbook?

Involute Splines section

gives you the math and pictorials to model the splines.

make a solid then extract the dxf from that.

Hello,

I am a student on a formula SAE EV team. I have the external spline shaft, RCV FSAE Miata Outboard Tripod Housing, and have the spindle which I need to cut an internal spline into. Below is the data for the external spline

26 Involute Splines
1 Mod
45° Pressure angle
Class 5 fit

I have found the dimensions for the internal spline from the ANSI standard B92.2M-1980 (B92-2Ma-1984) and now need to make a DXF file for our machinist to input into the EDM machine to cut the splines. I am currently trying to use MITCalc's Shafts Connection using Keys and Splines extension to generate the spline DXF but I am not sure I am doing it correctly. Mainly with validating if the DXF is correct. Any help would be appreciated!

last place I worked we EDM'd quite a few internal splines. We always ran the first part out of 1/16 material to make sure the shape was correct.

Last edited: