What's new
What's new

Getting started tool resharpening

burnthesky

Plastic
So I'm looking into starting up a small tool sharpening "side hustle". I work as a machinist now and I've talked my boss into giving me a shot at taking over our tool resharpening. Assuming I can match or improve the current quality of our resharps.

So it would be CEM's and HSS drill bits.

I'm trying to figure out what I should start with. I was looking at the Cuttermaster JXT for the endmills and Darex for the drill bits.
But i really have no idea where to start. Just looking for some good advice or opinions. Is there something better? Am I an idiot for thinking I can do this? Also I need to be able to set it up in a garage without any extra electrical work.

When I was a kid in college my dad ran the stores operation for the phone company in Birmingham, UK. "The Post Office".
Anyway, it used to bug him that so many of the tools the linemen used were scrapped when they were worn. So he did a deal with me where I would sharpen drill bits, screwdrivers, wood chisels, cold chisels etc by hand, for half the cost of new.
Also used to put new handles in hammers and axes.
Put the new handle backwards into an axe once - kept that one for myself.
All done by hand on a simple grinder.
For the screw drivers I put a white wheel in a drill press, set the table over to the angle, held the screw driver in a vice, and swung the table under the white wheel.
Made some pretty good money, for a kid.
Bob.

Hi burnthesky:
Cutter grinding has become one of those skills that is almost obsolete because the cost of a new cutter has become so inexpensive and because the widespread adoption of CNC has made it unnecessary to make as many specials as were necessary when everything was still done on manual machines.

So many modern shops never sharpen anything and just replace it when it's no longer serviceable.
It's cheaper for them to do it that way...at least that's the common wisdom.