What's new
What's new

Hardinge Conquest CS-42 power issues

Lunchbox1029

Plastic
Hi all, new member here, and I could use some guidance.

I recently purchased a 1988 Hardinge Conquest 42, tailstock model, no live tools. Pretty basic machine, and it is my first machine. I've been machining for 15 years and just decided to strike out on my own. However, I am having power issues. I am running a 20hp RPC from North American Rotary and am getting too high of a voltage at the machine leads. I am not an electrician, yes I should have hired one but here we are. I know I want to run the single phase transformer before the RPC due to the way my voltages are reading. I am thoroughly confused on the BB transformer sizing.

My legs are reading 245/245/255 +/-5%
As far as I understand, FLA is 51.2 amp single phase or 29.1 three phase.
when I calculate the kVa so I can size the transformer is when I'm losing it.

(249v nominal X 51.2 FLA)/1000= 12.749kVa

Am I missing something here? Like I said, I'm definitely not an electrician, but I'm doing this all alone and could really use some guidance on the BB transformer sizing. Thanks in advance.

I had that issue with my GT. The control transformer that Hardinge used had a lower voltage tap (seems like it was a nominal 95 volts) Tech support said change it and I did. Blown no boards or other components since. I had no alarms on my machine, mostly things popped at the voltage and current spike during power up. (Copied from the Hardinge forum post)