What's new
What's new

Help: Antique Leblond Engine Lathe Spindle Issue

müjin

Plastic
I am new to the world of machining so please pardon my ignorance and perhaps misuse of terminology. I'm in the process of restoring an antique, belt driven lathe and have a bit of a mystery on my hands on how to deal with the headstock and spindle.

The lathe in question is a 12" Leblond Engine lathe, circa 1890 - 1904 (pictured).

IMG_4241 copy.jpgIMG_4238 copy.jpg

To put it simply, the headstock was stuck when I got it. I know for a fact that the owners disassembled the headstock in order to remove the belt :nutter:, put the headstock back on, and moved the lathe to a different location which is where I picked it up. It should be noted that the people I bought the lathe from inherited it from a deceased family member (original owner!) and were not themselves the ones who used it.

I removed the spindle from the headstock and observed the following:

•None of the lower journal bears seem to have been removed or tampered with.

•The upper left journal bearing is too tight to fit back on the spindle (pictured). This side was notably tight when removing the spindle from the headstock.

•The aforementioned journal bearing has a slight banana curve, the upper bearing on the right side is flat.

•There were no shims on either set of bearings (should there be?) but either one still a lot of space between them.

•The power feed/screw pulley has brass poured in one of the threaded grub screw holes and isn't going anywhere. Grease buildup on the gear teeth suggest its been in that position for a long time.

•Without the top left journal bearing attached and the right set installed with hand-tight bolts I can spin the spindle by hand with the back gear engaged with relative ease, directly off the cone can be done but with much more drag. I think this is standard for babbitt and does better under power and with liberal amounts of oil but correct me if I'm wrong.

My take is this: