What's new
What's new

Hendey 12x54

cro-magnum

Plastic
I have no idea how to post pics here. I'm new to Photobucket and Practical Machinist so bare with me. I took a look at a 12x54 Hendey yesterday, I have some pics that hopefully you can all see?!?!?!. I read here about the location of the serial number but forgot the details by the time I made it to the machine. I should be able to talk the owner through finding it now so no biggie.

In the mean time does anyone have some insight on this machine. It appears that all the oil intended for it's gear train is now in the swarf pan. Nothing is stuck on the machine but it very dirty and gummed up. This machine works but will need a weekend of cleaning to be ready to play (I mean find out what else it needs).

I have read many of the theads here so I have a grasp of what this machine is all about. I see some machines here in working order around $1000. His asking price is $1500, but has committed to less.

I am lucky enough that I live in AZ I hope Hendeyman may have some parts this thing is laking.

P1010169-1.jpg

P1010164-1.jpg

P1010165-1.jpg

P1010162-1.jpg

P1010163-1.jpg

Unless there's a lot of stuff that comes with it that's not in the pics, that's a very naked lathe. You could easily spend more tooling it up, than on the lathe itself.

John,

Thanks for the link I have scanned over that before. I'll look at it in more depth.

Unless there's a lot of stuff that comes with it that's not in the pics, that's a very naked lathe. You could easily spend more tooling it up, than on the lathe itself.

Yeah I felt it was a bit high for what it has. I also wonder how many of these machines made it to the south west. This is the first Hendey I have seen, never really looked for one either though. My dad speaks highly of Hendey and from what I saw in person I understand why.

Travis