What's new
What's new

How do the next six months look for your shop?

I have tried but still cannot understand why machinist are paid so little compared to other trades. Can anyone enlighten me.

Simple, most other trades compete locally, we compete globally. The plumber or electrician might have 50 or 100 competitors, most machine shops have 100,000+ and many of those are in third world countries with $1 an hour labor.

Business is good. We turn down nothing. Trying to find way's to get everything done now. Not complaining about being busy ! It was not that long ago when just about eveyone was hurting.

I plan on opening a new waterjet shop in the next six months or so. I have 15 years experience as an operator and now have the means to buy a new Ward machine and be able to carry the shop for a year or two if need be. Most new shops fail quickly because they cannot make a profit until they are well known. I plan to cling on and market myself shamelessly. It will be at least a year or two before I can hire an operator, if ever. If I just break even, then I will have the coolest hobby shop ever.

The next 6 months. July has 2)4 day autocross race weekends for us. August has a week vacation in upper Maine, racing again, and a 2nd long weekend. September I plan on being at the IMTS, followed by a "work" trip to Verona with wifey. October we will be in Miami "working" for a week. Staying around home for November. December is time for a vacation so will be in Barbados for a few weeks, and holidays finish the year. Back to work in January spending a week in Vegas "working".
Tough job but it has gotta be done.
Prob not the answers Mil was looking for.

Seeing as another 6 months or so has passed guess updates are due,