What's new
What's new

How to Spend $43k on CNC Mill & Lathe Tooling

UtahTechFabLab

Plastic
Hi Y'all!

I work as a manufacturing lab manager for a state university, and I was recently given about $43,000 to help tool up a 2015 DMG Mori Duravertical and a 2011 Mori Seiki NL2500Y that we have in our engineering fabrication lab.

I'm wondering if you have any suggestions for unique or particularly helpful things that you would buy? What tips do you have?

I'm already planning on hitting all the basic things... toolholding, workholding, live tools for the lathe, etc. And I'm exploring all of the discounts that I can for educational institutions. But I'm asking beyond all that. I'm looking for what might be lesser-known things that you end up using a ton, or things that have allowed you to make unexpected things with your machines. Since we don't produce any specific parts, flexibility is king -- anything that helps us do more with the machines we have is attractive to me.

UPDATE: There are two things that I should share based on the great feedback y'all have given me already.

First, we use these machines for two main purposes. Purpose #1, we run labs where young engineering students are introduced to basic principles of machining. We are not a trade school, so we're not training machinists -- but, for example, my students are designing their own injection molds and then creating the toolpath and cutting them on our Duravertical. It's very time-consuming for me, but it gives our engineers a valuable experience that will make them much better designers if they ever need to make an injection molded part. I want all our machines to serve that purpose.

Purpose #2, we use these machines to make just about everything that needs to get made anywhere in the engineering department. Student design projects, Senior Design, lab projects, you name it. That's why I say tools that allow me to maximize flexibility are key.