What's new
What's new

I bought a new machine. And then got carried away!

delalio

Plastic
Good evening gents.

So I had previously messaged a couple of members on the forum, and they advised me to post this as a new thread! This is my first thread on PM, despite being a member for a while.

So here is the short-ish version of the story!

I am a hobby engineer, living in Dublin, Ireland. I make model steam engines, and small parts at home, on a Myford Super 7. I have a small YouTube channel, called BestLathePlans (for anyone interested - https://www.youtube.com/bestlatheplans)
I decided I needed a Mill, so I thought it would be a great idea to buy a nice small mill, so I bought a Bridgeport form the UK. Whilst figuring out transport back to Ireland, I realised it was not much more expensive to bring several machines back. So I ended up buying a bunch of machines to keep the Bridgeport company on the journey.

In total I ended up buying:
  • Bridgeport BRJ (1971)
  • Tom Senior Horizontal Mill (1977)
  • Progress 3A pillar drill - dual speed motor, 70-1800RPM (year unknown)
  • Colchester Master Lathe (1963)
  • Studer OB Grinder (1955)
  • Guyson Shotblasting Cabinet and filters and gun
(Side note, I did not view or test anything before buying. Buying from another country and travel etc made it somewhat inconvenient. Reckless? maybe! Luckily it all seems to be going well so far however!)

The Studer and pillar drill were a total impulse buy. I have never done any grinding, other than shaping some tool steel cutters for use on my Myford lathe.

In total I spent €1800 on machines, and another €1100 on transport, customs, tax, fuel, etc, etc, which I thought was actually not too bad at all...

So, I just wanted to say hi, and post a few pics of the machines. I'll probably be posting a bunch of queries in the coming weeks/months, when I realise how much work I've taken on.
If you want to see any other views of the machines, just give me a shout!

Cheers,

Del