What's new
What's new

Index 747 Mill Opinions?

landrand

Plastic
Was wondering what the experts think about this mill that is for sale in my area? It's an Index 747 mill, variable speed, 230v 3ph, comes with 6" machine vice, #20 taper holders, collet chuck with collets. The seller is asking $2,500. I'm a newbie and think it would be fun to have one of these in my shop to play around with in my retirement.

Unfortunately, I don't know anything about these mills and I'd be buying it without any expert knowledge of what issues/problems to look for upon inspection. Any advice or recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• 00B0B_1vC6WobTbbcz_0t20CI_600x450.jpg
    00B0B_1vC6WobTbbcz_0t20CI_600x450.jpg
    16.8 KB · Views: 55
  • 01111_fBx2UI1qCbfz_0CI0t2_600x450.jpg
    01111_fBx2UI1qCbfz_0CI0t2_600x450.jpg
    40.1 KB · Views: 56
  • 01010_lfLp2fiZC2zz_0CI0t2_600x450.jpg
    01010_lfLp2fiZC2zz_0CI0t2_600x450.jpg
    30.8 KB · Views: 56
  • 00O0O_igXLXNYLYm2z_0CI0t2_600x450.jpg
    00O0O_igXLXNYLYm2z_0CI0t2_600x450.jpg
    35.3 KB · Views: 52
  • 00k0k_lJFV2yHVRjjz_0CI0t2_600x450.jpg
    00k0k_lJFV2yHVRjjz_0CI0t2_600x450.jpg
    33 KB · Views: 51
  • 00k0k_itT94AKspXzz_0t20CI_600x450.jpg
    00k0k_itT94AKspXzz_0t20CI_600x450.jpg
    22.3 KB · Views: 53
  • 00I0I_3ywJWJXpTPiz_0CI0t2_600x450.jpg
    00I0I_3ywJWJXpTPiz_0CI0t2_600x450.jpg
    34.3 KB · Views: 52
They are good machines. I have that one's slightly bigger brother, an 847. And that's a QC30 taper, BTW.

Things to look for are going to be difficult if you're not very knowledgeable about the machines. I would run the spindle and listen. Should be pretty quiet and smooth. Check that the speed adjustment works well and that both low and high range work well. Run it at high speed for a while and see if it gets hot, stays cold or is warm. Should not get above 120° F. If it doesn't at least get warm to the touch, the spindle bearings probably don't have enough preload and may need replacement.