What's new
What's new

Kearney & Trecker Milwaukee 2K Universal Mill

BrandonMag

Aluminum
I've been looking to buy a mill and came across this: Public Surplus: Auction #2349706

I'm a newbie to machining, but after a fair amount of careful reading and multiple YouTube video viewings, I think this machine may be worth placing a bid on. It's only about a four-hour drive away, which is well worth the time if it has the features I want in a universal mill. Before I place a bid, however, I have a couple of questions regarding the specific features it has:

1. Approximately when was it manufactured? The serial number is 41-3316.

2. Does this mill have the vertical rapid traverse feature for the knee? You can see the clutch handle on the right side of the knee, so I am fairly certain it has the x- and y-axis rapid traverse. What I'm unsure about is if this particular machine has the vertical (z-axis) rapid traverse feature found on the later mills K&T manufactured.

3. Are there any other features this particular machine has that are worth noting? (I've watched Keith Fenner on YouTube explain the features his K&T 2HL universal mill has; I'm assuming the two mills have similar design elements.)

Thanks for the replies, guys. :)

Since I'm a newbie, there was a bit of a delay between my submitting this thread to be posted and it actually posting. I managed to find the manufacturers' listed weight on the Model K, which matches what you posted, John. It is certainly not a lightweight! :eek:

I put a bid in on it; I am currently the high bidder. There's still a couple of days left, but if I win it, I'll post a picture-filled thread documenting picking it up in Tacoma and bringing it home... that will be an interesting trip.

Sorry, I'm a little slow: are you saying it was the 41st out of 60 mills built and it was built in '41?

Sorry, I'm a little slow: are you saying it was the 41st out of 60 mills built and it was built in '41?